Skyhorse Publishing

Logo

Follow Me to

The Follow Me project was created in 2012 based on the concept of showing the beauty and uniqueness of different locations around the world. It is a story told through the eyes of two ordinary...


The Vanished

Every year, nearly one hundred thousand Japanese vanish without a trace. Known as the johatsu, or the "evaporated," they are often driven by shame and hopelessness, leaving behind lost jobs,...


Not for Tourists Guide to New York City 2016

With details on everything from the Empire State Building to Max Fish, this is the only guide a native or traveler needs. The Not For Tourists Guide to New York City is a map-based,...


The Man-eaters of Tsavo and Other East African Adventures

When the British government undertook the construction of the Uganda Railway through East Africa in 1898, harsh criticism from the press, tremendous amounts of money spent, and rebelliousness of the...


Not for Tourists Guide to New York City 2013

"The Not For Tourists Guide to New York City" is a map-based, neighborhood-by-neighborhood dream guide designed to lighten the load of already street-savvy New Yorkers, commuters, business travelers,...


Tschiffely's Ride

From the southeast coast of South America through an expanse of Peruvian sands en route to the West Coast, then onward through Central American jungles and rainforest, and finally to New York,...


The Home of the Blizzard

In "The Home of the Blizzard", Sir Douglas Mawson records his historic expedition to explore uncharted land in Antarctica. Pitted against formidable natural forces, he and his team faced unrelenting...


Burqalicious: The Dubai Diaries

As a sassy young woman used to drinking, partying, blogging, and shopping her way through dreary London, the call of a glamorous, tax-free career in sunny Dubai just couldn t go unanswered. Over the...


More Readings from One Man's Wilderness

Richard Proenneke was a master of woodcrafts and camp craft, a keen observer of the natural world, a mechanical genius, a tireless hiker, and a journalist for more than thirty years. He lives a...


The Long Hitch Home

Tasmania to London. One end of the globe to the other. 800 hitchhiking rides. 18 thousand miles. Four seasons. Three continents. 19 countries. How many rides does it take to hitch from Tasmania to...


Exploring English Castles

A guide to some of the most historical and picturesque castles in England for romantics and Anglophiles alike. Castles have shaped England. For almost one thousand years, castles have been the...


Provence

Lawrence Durrell, who was called "one of the [twentieth] century's great literary pyrotechnicians" (Kenneth McLeish, London Times), was also one of its most accomplished travel writers. Durrell lived...


Don't Start the Revolution Without Me!

Jesse Ventura has had many lives--as a Navy SEAL, as a star of pro wrestling, as an actor, and as the governor of Minnesota. His previous books, "I Ain't Got Time to Bleed" and "Do I Stand Alone?,"...


Farthest North

"If Outside magazine had been around during the first turn of the century, Fridtjof Nansen would have been its No. 1 cover boy."The Chicago Sun-Times In September of 1893, Norwegian zoologist...


Swimming with Crocodiles

Chaffey elevates a tale of survival and adventure into a beautifully written meditation on the beauty of the natural world in a unique country. Sunday Telegraph


Trail of Feathers

A shrunken head from Peru and a feather with traces of blood are the clues that launch Tahir Shah on his latest journey. Fascinated by the recurring theme of flight in Peruvian folklore, Shah sets...


The Little Virtues

As far as the education of children is concerned, states Natalia Ginzburg in this collection of her finest and best-known short essays, I think they should be taught not the little virtues but the...


The Boy Who Talked to Dogs

When Martin McKenna was growing up in Garryowen, Ireland, in the 1970s, he felt the whole world knew him as just "that stupid boy." Badly misunderstood by his family and teachers, Martin escaped from...


Playing the Piano for Pleasure

Skyhorse Publishing is proud to revive "Playing Piano for Pleasure." With the wonderful writing one would expect from a longtime "New Yorker" reporter, Piano aficionado Charles Cooke, offers concrete...


Brick Flicks

Turn your bricks into blockbusters with this movie-making guide! You've seen the smash-hit film; now it's time to step into the director's chair and make your own. Forget big budgets, A-list movie...


The Last Explorer

In the tradition of The Ice Master and Endurance, here is the incredible story of the first truly modern explorer, whose death-defying adventures and uncommon modesty make this book itself an...


The Making of the President 2016

In the tradition of Theodore White s landmark books, the definitive look at how Donald J. Trump shocked the world to become president From Roger Stone, a New York Times bestselling author, longtime...


Making Mavericks

When Richard "Frosty" Hesson was first approached by a young Jay Moriarty in 1990, the skinny kid with a sparkle in his eye only wanted one thing from the icon: his help in becoming a better surfer....


Auschwitz

When the Nazis invaded Hungary in 1944, they sent virtually the entire Jewish population to Auschwitz. A Jew and a medical doctor, Dr. Miklos Nyiszli was spared from death for a grimmer fate: to...


Plague

On July 22, 2009, a special meeting was held with twenty-four leading scientists at the National Institutes of Health to discuss early findings that a newly discovered retrovirus was linked to...


Digital Stock Photography

This comprehensive volume will equip photographers with everything they need to know in order to create digital stock photographs that will sell in today's highly competitive marketplace. "Digital...


The Ultimate Unofficial Guide to Strategies for Minecrafters

This adventure series is created especially for readers who love the fight of good vs. evil, magical academies like Hogwarts in the Harry Potter saga, and games like Minecraft, Terraria, and Pokemon...


Twelve Years a Slave

The incredible true story of the kidnapping, enslavement, and rescue of Solomon Northup in the era before the Civil War--now a major motion picture! In 1841, Solomon Northup was a free man living in...


The Man Who Killed Kennedy

"We appreciate Roger Stone, he is one tough cookie." - President Trump The sensational New York Times bestseller, now in paperback. Find out how and why LBJ had JFK assassinated. The Man Who...


The Murder of Marilyn Monroe

Marilyn Monroe died under suspicious circumstances on the night of August 4, 1962. In The Murder of Marilyn Monroe: Case Closed, renowned MM expert Jay Margolis and New York Times bestselling author...